Board & Staff

The Irish Osteoporosis Society is registered as a charity with the Charities Regulatory Authority. The Society is governed by its Constitution which provides for a member-based organisation with the following mission:

To provide a quality service in improving the lives of people affected by osteoporosis and all aspects regarding this condition.

Our Commitment to you is to:

  • Provide an excellent service
  • Communicate effectively
  • Be fair and impartial at all times
  • If any person raises an issue about our service, we will investigate and take appropriate action whilst learning from the experience

IOS Board

Chairperson: Professor Moira O’Brien
Secretary: Professor Moira O’Brien
Directors:  Ms. Aoife Ni Eochaidh, Professor Moira O’Brien, Dr. Richard Tobin, Mr. Derek Bennett.



Michele O’Brien, C.E.O.

Joyce Farnan, General Manager.

Professor Moira O’Brien:

Founder and Chairperson of IOS, Emeritus Professor of Anatomy, TCD.

Dr Richard Tobin:

GP, Tobin Health Care Centre, Castlebar, Co. Mayo.

Ms Aoife Ni Eochaidh:

Clinical Specialist Physiotherapist Men & Women’s Health & Continence, Bon Secours Hospital Galway.

Mr Derek Bennett:

Orthopaedic Surgeon in Mayo General Hospital.